lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2014]   [Apr]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3.4 127/134] media: omap_vout: find_vma() needs ->mmap_sem held
Date
3.4-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>

commit 55ee64b30a38d688232e5eb2860467dddc493573 upstream.

Walking rbtree while it's modified is a Bad Idea(tm); besides,
the result of find_vma() can be freed just as it's getting returned
to caller. Fortunately, it's easy to fix - just take ->mmap_sem a bit
earlier (and don't bother with find_vma() at all if virtp >= PAGE_OFFSET -
in that case we don't even look at its result).

While we are at it, what prevents VIDIOC_PREPARE_BUF calling
v4l_prepare_buf() -> (e.g) vb2_ioctl_prepare_buf() -> vb2_prepare_buf() ->
__buf_prepare() -> __qbuf_userptr() -> vb2_vmalloc_get_userptr() -> find_vma(),
AFAICS without having taken ->mmap_sem anywhere in process? The code flow
is bloody convoluted and depends on a bunch of things done by initialization,
so I certainly might've missed something...

Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@iki.fi>
Cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Cc: Archit Taneja <archit@ti.com>
Cc: Prabhakar Lad <prabhakar.lad@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@redhat.com>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: adjust filename]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Cc: Jianguo Wu <wujianguo@huawei.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
drivers/media/video/omap/omap_vout.c | 12 +++++++-----
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

--- a/drivers/media/video/omap/omap_vout.c
+++ b/drivers/media/video/omap/omap_vout.c
@@ -206,19 +206,21 @@ static u32 omap_vout_uservirt_to_phys(u3
struct vm_area_struct *vma;
struct mm_struct *mm = current->mm;

- vma = find_vma(mm, virtp);
/* For kernel direct-mapped memory, take the easy way */
- if (virtp >= PAGE_OFFSET) {
- physp = virt_to_phys((void *) virtp);
- } else if (vma && (vma->vm_flags & VM_IO) && vma->vm_pgoff) {
+ if (virtp >= PAGE_OFFSET)
+ return virt_to_phys((void *) virtp);
+
+ down_read(&current->mm->mmap_sem);
+ vma = find_vma(mm, virtp);
+ if (vma && (vma->vm_flags & VM_IO) && vma->vm_pgoff) {
/* this will catch, kernel-allocated, mmaped-to-usermode
addresses */
physp = (vma->vm_pgoff << PAGE_SHIFT) + (virtp - vma->vm_start);
+ up_read(&current->mm->mmap_sem);
} else {
/* otherwise, use get_user_pages() for general userland pages */
int res, nr_pages = 1;
struct page *pages;
- down_read(&current->mm->mmap_sem);

res = get_user_pages(current, current->mm, virtp, nr_pages, 1,
0, &pages, NULL);



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2014-04-10 06:01    [W:0.411 / U:2.648 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site