lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2014]   [Apr]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/2] mm/compaction: make isolate_freepages start at pageblock boundary
On Tue, Apr 15, 2014 at 11:18:26AM +0200, Vlastimil Babka wrote:
> The compaction freepage scanner implementation in isolate_freepages() starts
> by taking the current cc->free_pfn value as the first pfn. In a for loop, it
> scans from this first pfn to the end of the pageblock, and then subtracts
> pageblock_nr_pages from the first pfn to obtain the first pfn for the next
> for loop iteration.
>
> This means that when cc->free_pfn starts at offset X rather than being aligned
> on pageblock boundary, the scanner will start at offset X in all scanned
> pageblock, ignoring potentially many free pages. Currently this can happen when
> a) zone's end pfn is not pageblock aligned, or
> b) through zone->compact_cached_free_pfn with CONFIG_HOLES_IN_ZONE enabled and
> a hole spanning the beginning of a pageblock
>
> This patch fixes the problem by aligning the initial pfn in isolate_freepages()
> to pageblock boundary. This also allows to replace the end-of-pageblock
> alignment within the for loop with a simple pageblock_nr_pages increment.
>
> Signed-off-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Reported-by: Heesub Shin <heesub.shin@samsung.com>
> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
> Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>
> Cc: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com>
> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
> ---
> mm/compaction.c | 22 ++++++++++++----------
> 1 file changed, 12 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

Acked-by: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2014-04-16 04:01    [W:0.123 / U:134.664 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site