lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2014]   [Feb]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 1/4] mm, s390: Revert "thp: make MADV_HUGEPAGE check for mm->def_flags"
Date
This reverts commit 8e72033f2a489b6c98c4e3c7cc281b1afd6cb85c, and adds
in code to fix up any issues caused by the revert.

The revert is necessary because hugepage_madvise would return -EINVAL
when VM_NOHUGEPAGE is set, which will break subsequent chunks of this
patch set.

Here's a snip of an e-mail from Gerald detailing the original purpose
of this code, and providing justification for the revert:

<snip>
The intent of 8e72033f2a48 was to guard against any future programming
errors that may result in an madvice(MADV_HUGEPAGE) on guest mappings,
which would crash the kernel.

Martin suggested adding the bit to arch/s390/mm/pgtable.c, if 8e72033f2a48
was to be reverted, because that check will also prevent a kernel crash
in the case described above, it will now send a SIGSEGV instead.

This would now also allow to do the madvise on other parts, if needed,
so it is a more flexible approach. One could also say that it would have
been better to do it this way right from the beginning...
</snip>

Signed-off-by: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com>
Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: linux390@de.ibm.com
Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org

---
arch/s390/mm/pgtable.c | 3 +++
mm/huge_memory.c | 4 ----
2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/s390/mm/pgtable.c b/arch/s390/mm/pgtable.c
index 3584ed9..a87cdb4 100644
--- a/arch/s390/mm/pgtable.c
+++ b/arch/s390/mm/pgtable.c
@@ -504,6 +504,9 @@ static int gmap_connect_pgtable(unsigned long address, unsigned long segment,
if (!pmd_present(*pmd) &&
__pte_alloc(mm, vma, pmd, vmaddr))
return -ENOMEM;
+ /* large pmds cannot yet be handled */
+ if (pmd_large(*pmd))
+ return -EFAULT;
/* pmd now points to a valid segment table entry. */
rmap = kmalloc(sizeof(*rmap), GFP_KERNEL|__GFP_REPEAT);
if (!rmap)
diff --git a/mm/huge_memory.c b/mm/huge_memory.c
index 82166bf..a4310a5 100644
--- a/mm/huge_memory.c
+++ b/mm/huge_memory.c
@@ -1968,8 +1968,6 @@ out:
int hugepage_madvise(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
unsigned long *vm_flags, int advice)
{
- struct mm_struct *mm = vma->vm_mm;
-
switch (advice) {
case MADV_HUGEPAGE:
/*
@@ -1977,8 +1975,6 @@ int hugepage_madvise(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
*/
if (*vm_flags & (VM_HUGEPAGE | VM_NO_THP))
return -EINVAL;
- if (mm->def_flags & VM_NOHUGEPAGE)
- return -EINVAL;
*vm_flags &= ~VM_NOHUGEPAGE;
*vm_flags |= VM_HUGEPAGE;
/*
--
1.7.12.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2014-02-27 19:01    [W:0.060 / U:31.464 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site