lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2013]   [Aug]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 35/47] perf annotate: Remove nop at end of annotation
Date
From: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>

When kcore is used for annotation, symbols do not have correct sizes
because they come from kallsyms, that has only its start address, with
the end address being the next symbol's minus one.

That sometimes results in an extra nop being seen after the end of a
function. Remove it.

Suggested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1375875537-4509-13-git-send-email-adrian.hunter@intel.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/annotate.c | 31 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 31 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/annotate.c b/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
index 4ab2f11..646e38d 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
@@ -830,6 +830,30 @@ static int symbol__parse_objdump_line(struct symbol *sym, struct map *map,
return 0;
}

+static void delete_last_nop(struct symbol *sym)
+{
+ struct annotation *notes = symbol__annotation(sym);
+ struct list_head *list = &notes->src->source;
+ struct disasm_line *dl;
+
+ while (!list_empty(list)) {
+ dl = list_entry(list->prev, struct disasm_line, node);
+
+ if (dl->ins && dl->ins->ops) {
+ if (dl->ins->ops != &nop_ops)
+ return;
+ } else {
+ if (!strstr(dl->line, " nop ") &&
+ !strstr(dl->line, " nopl ") &&
+ !strstr(dl->line, " nopw "))
+ return;
+ }
+
+ list_del(&dl->node);
+ disasm_line__free(dl);
+ }
+}
+
int symbol__annotate(struct symbol *sym, struct map *map, size_t privsize)
{
struct dso *dso = map->dso;
@@ -923,6 +947,13 @@ fallback:
if (symbol__parse_objdump_line(sym, map, file, privsize) < 0)
break;

+ /*
+ * kallsyms does not have symbol sizes so there may a nop at the end.
+ * Remove it.
+ */
+ if (dso__is_kcore(dso))
+ delete_last_nop(sym);
+
pclose(file);
out_free_filename:
if (free_filename)
--
1.8.1.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2013-08-08 02:21    [W:0.119 / U:4.520 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site