lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2013]   [Aug]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/core] perf annotate: Add call target name if it is missing
Commit-ID:  b178170a38e719cb7bc4a14d3f5e4b4ea6b7b851
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/b178170a38e719cb7bc4a14d3f5e4b4ea6b7b851
Author: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
AuthorDate: Wed, 7 Aug 2013 14:38:57 +0300
Committer: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
CommitDate: Wed, 7 Aug 2013 17:35:36 -0300

perf annotate: Add call target name if it is missing

The /proc/kcore file has no symbols, so the call target name does not
display. Fix by looking up the symbol name if it is on the same map.

Reported-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1375875537-4509-14-git-send-email-adrian.hunter@intel.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/annotate.c | 16 ++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 16 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/annotate.c b/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
index 646e38d..bfc5a27 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/annotate.c
@@ -825,6 +825,22 @@ static int symbol__parse_objdump_line(struct symbol *sym, struct map *map,
dl->ops.target.offset = dl->ops.target.addr -
map__rip_2objdump(map, sym->start);

+ /*
+ * kcore has no symbols, so add the call target name if it is on the
+ * same map.
+ */
+ if (dl->ins && ins__is_call(dl->ins) && !dl->ops.target.name) {
+ struct symbol *s;
+ u64 ip = dl->ops.target.addr;
+
+ if (ip >= map->start && ip <= map->end) {
+ ip = map->map_ip(map, ip);
+ s = map__find_symbol(map, ip, NULL);
+ if (s && s->start == ip)
+ dl->ops.target.name = strdup(s->name);
+ }
+ }
+
disasm__add(&notes->src->source, dl);

return 0;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2013-08-12 14:01    [W:0.197 / U:3.100 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site