lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2013]   [Oct]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] lib/scatterlist.c: don't flush_kernel_dcache_page on slab page
On Tue, Oct 29, 2013 at 12:20:05AM +0800, Ming Lei wrote:
> Commit b1adaf65ba03([SCSI] block: add sg buffer copy helper functions)
> introduces two sg buffer copy helpers, and calls flush_kernel_dcache_page()
> on pages in SG list after these pages are written to.
>
> Unfortunately, the commit may introduce a potential bug:
>
> - Before sending some SCSI commands, kmalloc() buffer may be
> passed to block layper, so flush_kernel_dcache_page() can
> see a slab page finally
>
> - According to cachetlb.txt, flush_kernel_dcache_page() is
> only called on "a user page", which surely can't be a slab page.
>
> - ARCH's implementation of flush_kernel_dcache_page() may
> use page mapping information to do optimization so page_mapping()
> will see the slab page, then VM_BUG_ON() is triggered.
>
> Aaro Koskinen reported the bug on ARM/kirkwood when DEBUG_VM is enabled,
> and this patch fixes the bug by adding test of '!PageSlab(miter->page)'
> before calling flush_kernel_dcache_page().
>
> Reported-by: Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@iki.fi>
> Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: Simon Baatz <gmbnomis@gmail.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@iki.fi>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: FUJITA Tomonori <fujita.tomonori@lab.ntt.co.jp>
> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <JBottomley@parallels.com>
> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
> Signed-off-by: Ming Lei <ming.lei@canonical.com>
> ---
> lib/scatterlist.c | 3 ++-
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/lib/scatterlist.c b/lib/scatterlist.c
> index a685c8a..d16fa29 100644
> --- a/lib/scatterlist.c
> +++ b/lib/scatterlist.c
> @@ -577,7 +577,8 @@ void sg_miter_stop(struct sg_mapping_iter *miter)
> miter->__offset += miter->consumed;
> miter->__remaining -= miter->consumed;
>
> - if (miter->__flags & SG_MITER_TO_SG)
> + if ((miter->__flags & SG_MITER_TO_SG) &&
> + !PageSlab(miter->page))
> flush_kernel_dcache_page(miter->page);
>
> if (miter->__flags & SG_MITER_ATOMIC) {
> --
> 1.7.9.5
>

Tested-by: Simon Baatz <gmbnomis@gmail.com>

on top of 3.12-rc7 on Kirkwood with DEBUG_VM enabled.

- Simon


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2013-10-29 14:21    [W:0.059 / U:4.248 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site