lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2013]   [Oct]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 14/14] vrange: Add vmstat counter about purged page
Date
From: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>

This patch adds the number of purged page in vmstat so admin can see
how many of volatile pages are discarded by VM until now.

Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Android Kernel Team <kernel-team@android.com>
Cc: Robert Love <rlove@google.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Dmitry Adamushko <dmitry.adamushko@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
Cc: Andrea Righi <andrea@betterlinux.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Mike Hommey <mh@glandium.org>
Cc: Taras Glek <tglek@mozilla.com>
Cc: Dhaval Giani <dhaval.giani@gmail.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@gmail.com>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Rob Clark <robdclark@gmail.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org <linux-mm@kvack.org>
Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
---
include/linux/vm_event_item.h | 2 ++
mm/vmstat.c | 2 ++
mm/vrange.c | 10 ++++++++++
3 files changed, 14 insertions(+)

diff --git a/include/linux/vm_event_item.h b/include/linux/vm_event_item.h
index bd6cf61..c4aea92 100644
--- a/include/linux/vm_event_item.h
+++ b/include/linux/vm_event_item.h
@@ -25,6 +25,8 @@ enum vm_event_item { PGPGIN, PGPGOUT, PSWPIN, PSWPOUT,
FOR_ALL_ZONES(PGALLOC),
PGFREE, PGACTIVATE, PGDEACTIVATE,
PGFAULT, PGMAJFAULT,
+ PGDISCARD_DIRECT,
+ PGDISCARD_KSWAPD,
FOR_ALL_ZONES(PGREFILL),
FOR_ALL_ZONES(PGSTEAL_KSWAPD),
FOR_ALL_ZONES(PGSTEAL_DIRECT),
diff --git a/mm/vmstat.c b/mm/vmstat.c
index 20c2ef4..4f35f46 100644
--- a/mm/vmstat.c
+++ b/mm/vmstat.c
@@ -756,6 +756,8 @@ const char * const vmstat_text[] = {

"pgfault",
"pgmajfault",
+ "pgdiscard_direct",
+ "pgdiscard_kswapd",

TEXTS_FOR_ZONES("pgrefill")
TEXTS_FOR_ZONES("pgsteal_kswapd")
diff --git a/mm/vrange.c b/mm/vrange.c
index c30e3dd..8931fab 100644
--- a/mm/vrange.c
+++ b/mm/vrange.c
@@ -894,6 +894,10 @@ int discard_vpage(struct page *page)

if (page_freeze_refs(page, 1)) {
unlock_page(page);
+ if (current_is_kswapd())
+ count_vm_event(PGDISCARD_KSWAPD);
+ else
+ count_vm_event(PGDISCARD_DIRECT);
return 0;
}
}
@@ -1144,6 +1148,12 @@ static int discard_vrange(struct vrange *vrange)
ret = __discard_vrange_file(mapping, vrange, &nr_discard);
}

+ if (!ret) {
+ if (current_is_kswapd())
+ count_vm_events(PGDISCARD_KSWAPD, nr_discard);
+ else
+ count_vm_events(PGDISCARD_DIRECT, nr_discard);
+ }
out:
__vroot_put(vroot);
return nr_discard;
--
1.8.1.2


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2013-10-03 03:21    [W:0.157 / U:1.220 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site