lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2013]   [Oct]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 120/161] perf stat: Fix misleading message when specifying cpu list or system wide
Date
From: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>

The "perf stat" tool displays the command run in its summary output
which is misleading when using a cpu list or system wide collection.

Before:

perf stat -a -- sleep 1

Performance counter stats for 'sleep 1':

16152.670249 task-clock # 16.132 CPUs utilized
417 context-switches # 0.002 M/sec
7 cpu-migrations # 0.030 K/sec
...

After:

perf stat -a -- sleep 1

Performance counter stats for 'system wide':

16206.931120 task-clock # 16.144 CPUs utilized
395 context-switches # 0.002 M/sec
5 cpu-migrations # 0.030 K/sec
...

or

perf stat -C1 -- sleep 1

Performance counter stats for 'CPU(s) 1':

1001.669257 task-clock # 1.000 CPUs utilized
4,264 context-switches # 0.004 M/sec
3 cpu-migrations # 0.003 K/sec
...

Signed-off-by: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1380400080-9211-2-git-send-email-dsahern@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/builtin-stat.c | 6 +++++-
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c b/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
index fb02b53b0e3d..c8a2662eb57a 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
@@ -1229,7 +1229,11 @@ static void print_stat(int argc, const char **argv)
if (!csv_output) {
fprintf(output, "\n");
fprintf(output, " Performance counter stats for ");
- if (!perf_target__has_task(&target)) {
+ if (target.system_wide)
+ fprintf(output, "\'system wide");
+ else if (target.cpu_list)
+ fprintf(output, "\'CPU(s) %s", target.cpu_list);
+ else if (!perf_target__has_task(&target)) {
fprintf(output, "\'%s", argv[0]);
for (i = 1; i < argc; i++)
fprintf(output, " %s", argv[i]);
--
1.8.1.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2013-10-14 22:41    [W:0.457 / U:1.004 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site