lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2013]   [Jan]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/core] perf tools: Add anonymous huge page recognition
Commit-ID:  d0528b5d71faf612014dd7672e44225c915344b2
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/d0528b5d71faf612014dd7672e44225c915344b2
Author: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>
AuthorDate: Sat, 5 Jan 2013 13:29:57 +0800
Committer: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
CommitDate: Thu, 24 Jan 2013 16:40:19 -0300

perf tools: Add anonymous huge page recognition

Judging anonymous memory's vm_area_struct, perf_mmap_event's filename
will be set to "//anon" indicating this vma belongs to anonymous
memory.

Once hugepage is used, vma's vm_file points to hugetlbfs. In this way,
this vma will not be regarded as anonymous memory by is_anon_memory() in
perf user space utility.

Signed-off-by: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>
Cc: Akihiro Nagai <akihiro.nagai.hw@hitachi.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Joshua Zhu <zhu.wen-jie@hp.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1357363797-3550-1-git-send-email-zhu.wen-jie@hp.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/map.c | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/map.c b/tools/perf/util/map.c
index 0328d45..ff94425 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/map.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/map.c
@@ -19,7 +19,8 @@ const char *map_type__name[MAP__NR_TYPES] = {

static inline int is_anon_memory(const char *filename)
{
- return strcmp(filename, "//anon") == 0;
+ return !strcmp(filename, "//anon") ||
+ !strcmp(filename, "/anon_hugepage (deleted)");
}

static inline int is_no_dso_memory(const char *filename)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2013-01-25 13:21    [W:0.030 / U:2.496 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site