lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Sep]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3] media: v4l2-ctrl: add a helper function to modify the menu
Hi Laurent,

Thanks for the review.

On Thursday 13 September 2012 06:45 AM, Laurent Pinchart wrote:
> Hi Prabhakar,
>
> Thanks for the patch.
>
> On Tuesday 11 September 2012 19:53:38 Prabhakar Lad wrote:
>> From: Lad, Prabhakar <prabhakar.lad@ti.com>
>>
>> Add a helper function to modify the menu, max and default value
>> to set.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Lad, Prabhakar <prabhakar.lad@ti.com>
>> Signed-off-by: Manjunath Hadli <manjunath.hadli@ti.com>
>> Cc: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
>> Cc: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@iki.fi>
>> Cc: Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@samsung.com>
>> Cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
>> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
>> Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
>> Cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
>> Cc: Guennadi Liakhovetski <g.liakhovetski@gmx.de>
>> Cc: Rob Landley <rob@landley.net>
>> ---
>> Changes for v3:
>> 1: Fixed style/grammer issues as pointed by Hans.
>> Thanks Hans for providing the description.
>>
>> Changes for v2:
>> 1: Fixed review comments from Hans, to have return type as
>> void, add WARN_ON() for fail conditions, allow this fucntion
>> to modify the menu of custom controls.
>>
>> Documentation/video4linux/v4l2-controls.txt | 29 ++++++++++++++++++++++++
>> drivers/media/v4l2-core/v4l2-ctrls.c | 17 +++++++++++++++
>> include/media/v4l2-ctrls.h | 11 ++++++++++
>> 3 files changed, 57 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)
>>
>> diff --git a/Documentation/video4linux/v4l2-controls.txt
>> b/Documentation/video4linux/v4l2-controls.txt index 43da22b..01d0a82 100644
>> --- a/Documentation/video4linux/v4l2-controls.txt
>> +++ b/Documentation/video4linux/v4l2-controls.txt
>> @@ -367,6 +367,35 @@ it to 0 means that all menu items are supported.
>> You set this mask either through the v4l2_ctrl_config struct for a custom
>> control, or by calling v4l2_ctrl_new_std_menu().
>>
>> +There are situations where menu items may be device specific. In such cases
>> the
>> +framework provides a helper function to change the menu:
>> +
>> +void v4l2_ctrl_modify_menu(struct v4l2_ctrl *ctrl, const char * const
>> *qmenu,
>> + s32 max, u32 menu_skip_mask, s32 def);
>
> Sorry if this is a stupid question, but wouldn't it be better to add a
> function to create a custom menu instead of modifying it afterwards ?
>
Create a custom menu? eventually everything boils down to modifying the
menu itself.

Regards,
--Prabhakar Lad

>> +
>> +A good example is the test pattern control for capture/display/sensors
>> devices
>> +that have the capability to generate test patterns. These test patterns are
>> +hardware specific, so the contents of the menu will vary from device to
>> device.
>> +
>> +This helper function is used to modify the menu, max, mask and the default
>> +value of the control.
>> +
>> +Example:
>> +
>> + static const char * const test_pattern[] = {
>> + "Disabled",
>> + "Vertical Bars",
>> + "Solid Black",
>> + "Solid White",
>> + NULL,
>> + };
>> + struct v4l2_ctrl *test_pattern_ctrl =
>> + v4l2_ctrl_new_std_menu(&foo->ctrl_handler, &foo_ctrl_ops,
>> + V4L2_CID_TEST_PATTERN, V4L2_TEST_PATTERN_DISABLED, 0,
>> + V4L2_TEST_PATTERN_DISABLED);
>> +
>> + v4l2_ctrl_modify_menu(test_pattern_ctrl, test_pattern, 3, 0,
>> + V4L2_TEST_PATTERN_DISABLED);
>>
>> Custom Controls
>> ===============
>



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-09-13 14:21    [W:0.058 / U:1.240 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site