lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Sep]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/3] perf tool: precise mode requires exclude_guest
Em Wed, Sep 12, 2012 at 07:46:55PM +0200, Robert Richter escreveu:
> On 12.09.12 09:16:28, David Ahern wrote:
> >
> > Kernel side AMD currently ignores all exclude_* bits, so there is no impact
> > to existing IBS code paths. Robert Richter has a patch where IBS code will
> > return EINVAL if an exclude_* bit is set. When this goes in it means use
> > of :p on AMD with IBS will first fail with EINVAL (because exclude_guest
> > will be set). Then the existing fallback code within perf will unset
> > exclude_guest and try again. The second attempt will succeed if the CPU
> > supports IBS profiling.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> > Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> > Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
> > Cc: Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>
> > Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
> > Link: https://lkml.org/lkml/2012/7/9/264
> > ---
> > tools/perf/util/parse-events.c | 3 +++
> > 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)
>
> Acked-by: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
>
> I tested the patch set with AMD IBS and it works fine.

Ok, I think that in this specific patchset I can add:

Tested-by: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
Reviewed-by: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>

Instead of an Acked-by, may I?

- Arnaldo


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-09-12 21:21    [W:0.047 / U:1.876 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site