lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Jul]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[ 11/48] mm: correctly synchronize rss-counters at exit/exec
3.2-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>

commit 4fe7efdbdfb1c7e7a7f31decfd831c0f31d37091 upstream.

do_exit() and exec_mmap() call sync_mm_rss() before mm_release() does
put_user(clear_child_tid) which can update task->rss_stat and thus make
mm->rss_stat inconsistent. This triggers the "BUG:" printk in check_mm().

Let's fix this bug in the safest way, and optimize/cleanup this later.

Reported-by: Markus Trippelsdorf <markus@trippelsdorf.de>
Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: sync_mm_rss() still takes a struct task_struct *]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
--- a/fs/exec.c
+++ b/fs/exec.c
@@ -820,10 +820,10 @@
/* Notify parent that we're no longer interested in the old VM */
tsk = current;
old_mm = current->mm;
- sync_mm_rss(tsk, old_mm);
mm_release(tsk, old_mm);

if (old_mm) {
+ sync_mm_rss(tsk, old_mm);
/*
* Make sure that if there is a core dump in progress
* for the old mm, we get out and die instead of going
--- a/kernel/exit.c
+++ b/kernel/exit.c
@@ -641,6 +641,7 @@
mm_release(tsk, mm);
if (!mm)
return;
+ sync_mm_rss(tsk, mm);
/*
* Serialize with any possible pending coredump.
* We must hold mmap_sem around checking core_state



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-07-01 21:02    [W:0.271 / U:5.164 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site