lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Mar]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 24/32] x86: Syscall hooks for nohz cpusets
Date
Add syscall hooks to notify syscall entry and exit on
CPUs running in adative nohz mode.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Sven-Thorsten Dietrich <thebigcorporation@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Zen Lin <zen@openhuawei.org>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/thread_info.h | 10 +++++++---
arch/x86/kernel/ptrace.c | 10 ++++++++++
2 files changed, 17 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/thread_info.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/thread_info.h
index cfd8144..0c1724e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/thread_info.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/thread_info.h
@@ -88,6 +88,7 @@ struct thread_info {
#define TIF_NOTSC 16 /* TSC is not accessible in userland */
#define TIF_IA32 17 /* 32bit process */
#define TIF_FORK 18 /* ret_from_fork */
+#define TIF_NOHZ 19 /* in nohz userspace mode */
#define TIF_MEMDIE 20 /* is terminating due to OOM killer */
#define TIF_DEBUG 21 /* uses debug registers */
#define TIF_IO_BITMAP 22 /* uses I/O bitmap */
@@ -110,6 +111,7 @@ struct thread_info {
#define _TIF_NOTSC (1 << TIF_NOTSC)
#define _TIF_IA32 (1 << TIF_IA32)
#define _TIF_FORK (1 << TIF_FORK)
+#define _TIF_NOHZ (1 << TIF_NOHZ)
#define _TIF_DEBUG (1 << TIF_DEBUG)
#define _TIF_IO_BITMAP (1 << TIF_IO_BITMAP)
#define _TIF_FORCED_TF (1 << TIF_FORCED_TF)
@@ -120,12 +122,13 @@ struct thread_info {
/* work to do in syscall_trace_enter() */
#define _TIF_WORK_SYSCALL_ENTRY \
(_TIF_SYSCALL_TRACE | _TIF_SYSCALL_EMU | _TIF_SYSCALL_AUDIT | \
- _TIF_SECCOMP | _TIF_SINGLESTEP | _TIF_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINT)
+ _TIF_SECCOMP | _TIF_SINGLESTEP | _TIF_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINT | \
+ _TIF_NOHZ)

/* work to do in syscall_trace_leave() */
#define _TIF_WORK_SYSCALL_EXIT \
(_TIF_SYSCALL_TRACE | _TIF_SYSCALL_AUDIT | _TIF_SINGLESTEP | \
- _TIF_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINT)
+ _TIF_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINT | _TIF_NOHZ)

/* work to do on interrupt/exception return */
#define _TIF_WORK_MASK \
@@ -135,7 +138,8 @@ struct thread_info {

/* work to do on any return to user space */
#define _TIF_ALLWORK_MASK \
- ((0x0000FFFF & ~_TIF_SECCOMP) | _TIF_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINT)
+ ((0x0000FFFF & ~_TIF_SECCOMP) | _TIF_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINT | \
+ _TIF_NOHZ)

/* Only used for 64 bit */
#define _TIF_DO_NOTIFY_MASK \
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/ptrace.c b/arch/x86/kernel/ptrace.c
index 5026738..2966791 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/ptrace.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/ptrace.c
@@ -21,6 +21,7 @@
#include <linux/signal.h>
#include <linux/perf_event.h>
#include <linux/hw_breakpoint.h>
+#include <linux/tick.h>

#include <asm/uaccess.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
@@ -1369,6 +1370,9 @@ long syscall_trace_enter(struct pt_regs *regs)
{
long ret = 0;

+ /* Notify nohz task syscall early so the rest can use rcu */
+ tick_nohz_enter_kernel();
+
/*
* If we stepped into a sysenter/syscall insn, it trapped in
* kernel mode; do_debug() cleared TF and set TIF_SINGLESTEP.
@@ -1427,4 +1431,10 @@ void syscall_trace_leave(struct pt_regs *regs)
!test_thread_flag(TIF_SYSCALL_EMU);
if (step || test_thread_flag(TIF_SYSCALL_TRACE))
tracehook_report_syscall_exit(regs, step);
+
+ /*
+ * Notify nohz task exit syscall at last so the rest can
+ * use rcu.
+ */
+ tick_nohz_exit_kernel();
}
--
1.7.5.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-03-21 15:05    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans