lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Mar]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/2] clk: Fix error handling in fixed clock hardware type register fn
On 03/20/2012 05:13 PM, Turquette, Mike wrote:
> On Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 12:46 AM, Saravana Kannan
> <skannan@codeaurora.org> wrote:
>> On Tue, March 20, 2012 12:19 am, Sascha Hauer wrote:
>>> On Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 08:38:25PM -0700, Saravana Kannan wrote:
>>>> If memory allocation for the parents array or the parent string fails,
>>>> then
>>>> fail the registration immediately instead of calling clk_register and
>>>> hoping it fails there.
>>>>
>>>> Return -ENOMEM on failure.
>>>>
>>>> Signed-off-by: Saravana Kannan<skannan@codeaurora.org>
>>>> Cc: Mike Turquette<mturquette@linaro.org>
>>>> Cc: Andrew Lunn<andrew@lunn.ch>
>>>> Cc: Rob Herring<rob.herring@calxeda.com>
>>>> Cc: Russell King<linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
>>>> Cc: Jeremy Kerr<jeremy.kerr@canonical.com>
>>>> Cc: Thomas Gleixner<tglx@linutronix.de>
>>>> Cc: Arnd Bergman<arnd.bergmann@linaro.org>
>>>> Cc: Paul Walmsley<paul@pwsan.com>
>>>> Cc: Shawn Guo<shawn.guo@freescale.com>
>>>> Cc: Sascha Hauer<s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
>>>> Cc: Jamie Iles<jamie@jamieiles.com>
>>>> Cc: Richard Zhao<richard.zhao@linaro.org>
>>>> Cc: Saravana Kannan<skannan@codeaurora.org>
>>>> Cc: Magnus Damm<magnus.damm@gmail.com>
>>>> Cc: Mark Brown<broonie@opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>
>>>> Cc: Linus Walleij<linus.walleij@stericsson.com>
>>>> Cc: Stephen Boyd<sboyd@codeaurora.org>
>>>> Cc: Amit Kucheria<amit.kucheria@linaro.org>
>>>> Cc: Deepak Saxena<dsaxena@linaro.org>
>>>> Cc: Grant Likely<grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
>>>> ---
>>>> There are still some memory free issues when clk_register() fails, but I
>>>> will
>>>> fix it when I fixed the other register() fns to return ENOMEM of alloc
>>>> failure instead of a NULL.
>>>>
>>>> drivers/clk/clk-fixed-rate.c | 10 +++++++---
>>>> 1 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
>>>>
>>>> diff --git a/drivers/clk/clk-fixed-rate.c b/drivers/clk/clk-fixed-rate.c
>>>> index 90c79fb..6423ae9 100644
>>>> --- a/drivers/clk/clk-fixed-rate.c
>>>> +++ b/drivers/clk/clk-fixed-rate.c
>>>> @@ -61,22 +61,26 @@ struct clk *clk_register_fixed_rate(struct device
>>>> *dev, const char *name,
>>>> parent_names = kmalloc(sizeof(char *), GFP_KERNEL);
>>>>
>>>> if (! parent_names)
>>>> - goto out;
>>>> + goto fail_ptr;
>>>>
>>>> len = sizeof(char) * strlen(parent_name);
>>>>
>>>> parent_names[0] = kmalloc(len, GFP_KERNEL);
>>>>
>>>> if (!parent_names[0])
>>>> - goto out;
>>>> + goto fail_str;
>>>>
>>>> strncpy(parent_names[0], parent_name, len);
>>>> }
>>>
>>> It's easier to add a char *parent to struct clk_fixed and pass it to
>>> clk_register with&fixed->parent. This saves you a kmalloc call and
>>> makes the error path simpler. It's the same way already done in the
>>> divider.
>
> I thought I had done this for v7... hmm looks like one got left out.
> I'll line up a patch to get it in sync with the others as part of my
> fixes.
>
>> I thought about that since I saw the same was done for gated and divider
>> (I think). Here is my guess at Mike's reasoning for this:
>>
>> Gated and divider clocks have to have a parent. There's nothing to gate
>> otherwise. But fixed rate clocks might not have a parent. It could be XO's
>> or PLLs running off of always on XOs not controlled by the SoC. So, it's
>> arguable to not have a parent. I don't have a strong opinion on this --
>> since Mike took the time to write it, it left it to his subjective
>> preference.
>
> I appreciate the thoughtfulness. Re-using the same type of mechanism
> as the divider and gate clocks will still allow the fixed-rate clock
> to be parentless, and it makes for cleaner code, one less allocation
> and lines up with how the other single-parent basic clocks are done,
> so I'll take that method in instead of your patch.

No problem, go for it.

>
>> I sent this patch first since it was around the place I was cleaning up. I
>> didn't want to actually just shuffle around a bug. As I mentioned, this
>> patch still leaves a bug open -- what if clk_register() fails. I plan to
>> fix that once my two patches are picked up (hopefully).
>
> Do you still find it useful to return -ENOMEM from the registration
> function instead of a NULL clock? I'm always worried that people
> don't check for error codes on pointers in their platform code and
> only check for NULL...

The last discussion I remember, NULL was considered a valid clock. So, I
think on error, we shouldn't ever return NULL when the return type is
struct clk *.

Thanks,
Saravana

--
Sent by an employee of the Qualcomm Innovation Center, Inc.
The Qualcomm Innovation Center, Inc. is a member of the Code Aurora Forum.


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-03-21 03:35    [W:0.143 / U:2.500 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site