lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Feb]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[ 19/73] gro: more generic L2 header check
3.0-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------


From: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>

[ Upstream commit 5ca3b72c5da47d95b83857b768def6172fbc080a ]

Shlomo Pongratz reported GRO L2 header check was suited for Ethernet
only, and failed on IB/ipoib traffic.

He provided a patch faking a zeroed header to let GRO aggregates frames.

Roland Dreier, Herbert Xu, and others suggested we change GRO L2 header
check to be more generic, ie not assuming L2 header is 14 bytes, but
taking into account hard_header_len.

__napi_gro_receive() has special handling for the common case (Ethernet)
to avoid a memcmp() call and use an inline optimized function instead.

Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Reported-by: Shlomo Pongratz <shlomop@mellanox.com>
Cc: Roland Dreier <roland@kernel.org>
Cc: Or Gerlitz <ogerlitz@mellanox.com>
Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Tested-by: Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
net/core/dev.c | 10 ++++++++--
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/net/core/dev.c
+++ b/net/core/dev.c
@@ -3434,14 +3434,20 @@ static inline gro_result_t
__napi_gro_receive(struct napi_struct *napi, struct sk_buff *skb)
{
struct sk_buff *p;
+ unsigned int maclen = skb->dev->hard_header_len;

for (p = napi->gro_list; p; p = p->next) {
unsigned long diffs;

diffs = (unsigned long)p->dev ^ (unsigned long)skb->dev;
diffs |= p->vlan_tci ^ skb->vlan_tci;
- diffs |= compare_ether_header(skb_mac_header(p),
- skb_gro_mac_header(skb));
+ if (maclen == ETH_HLEN)
+ diffs |= compare_ether_header(skb_mac_header(p),
+ skb_gro_mac_header(skb));
+ else if (!diffs)
+ diffs = memcmp(skb_mac_header(p),
+ skb_gro_mac_header(skb),
+ maclen);
NAPI_GRO_CB(p)->same_flow = !diffs;
NAPI_GRO_CB(p)->flush = 0;
}



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-02-28 02:43    [W:0.170 / U:1.364 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site