lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Nov]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 04/33] mm: Only flush the TLB when clearing an accessible pte
Date
From: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>

If ptep_clear_flush() is called to clear a page table entry that is
accessible anyway by the CPU, eg. a _PAGE_PROTNONE page table entry,
there is no need to flush the TLB on remote CPUs.

Signed-off-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-vm3rkzevahelwhejx5uwm8ex@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
mm/pgtable-generic.c | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/mm/pgtable-generic.c b/mm/pgtable-generic.c
index d8397da..0c8323f 100644
--- a/mm/pgtable-generic.c
+++ b/mm/pgtable-generic.c
@@ -88,7 +88,8 @@ pte_t ptep_clear_flush(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long address,
{
pte_t pte;
pte = ptep_get_and_clear((vma)->vm_mm, address, ptep);
- flush_tlb_page(vma, address);
+ if (pte_accessible(pte))
+ flush_tlb_page(vma, address);
return pte;
}
#endif
--
1.7.11.7


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-11-23 00:21    [W:0.331 / U:5.228 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site