lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Nov]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 16/33] sched, numa, mm: Add credits for NUMA placement
Date
From: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>

The NUMA placement code has been rewritten several times, but
the basic ideas took a lot of work to develop. The people who
put in the work deserve credit for it. Thanks Andrea & Peter :)

[ The Documentation/scheduler/numa-problem.txt file should
probably be rewritten once we figure out the final details of
what the NUMA code needs to do, and why. ]

Signed-off-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20121018171928.24d06af4@cuia.bos.redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
----
This is against tip.git numa/core
---
CREDITS | 1 +
kernel/sched/fair.c | 3 +++
mm/memory.c | 2 ++
3 files changed, 6 insertions(+)

diff --git a/CREDITS b/CREDITS
index d8fe12a..b4cdc8f 100644
--- a/CREDITS
+++ b/CREDITS
@@ -125,6 +125,7 @@ D: Author of pscan that helps to fix lp/parport bugs
D: Author of lil (Linux Interrupt Latency benchmark)
D: Fixed the shm swap deallocation at swapoff time (try_to_unuse message)
D: VM hacker
+D: NUMA task placement
D: Various other kernel hacks
S: Imola 40026
S: Italy
diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index 511fbb8..8af0208 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -18,6 +18,9 @@
*
* Adaptive scheduling granularity, math enhancements by Peter Zijlstra
* Copyright (C) 2007 Red Hat, Inc., Peter Zijlstra <pzijlstr@redhat.com>
+ *
+ * NUMA placement, statistics and algorithm by Andrea Arcangeli,
+ * CFS balancing changes by Peter Zijlstra. Copyright (C) 2012 Red Hat, Inc.
*/

#include <linux/latencytop.h>
diff --git a/mm/memory.c b/mm/memory.c
index 52ad29d..1f733dc 100644
--- a/mm/memory.c
+++ b/mm/memory.c
@@ -36,6 +36,8 @@
* (Gerhard.Wichert@pdb.siemens.de)
*
* Aug/Sep 2004 Changed to four level page tables (Andi Kleen)
+ *
+ * 2012 - NUMA placement page faults (Andrea Arcangeli, Peter Zijlstra)
*/

#include <linux/kernel_stat.h>
--
1.7.11.7


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-11-23 00:21    [W:0.323 / U:0.004 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site