lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Jan]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/4] mm: cleancache: s/flush/invalidate/
    Hey Konrad,

    On 01/12/2012 02:36 PM, Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk wrote:
    > From: Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
    >
    > Per akpm suggestions alter the use of the term flush to be
    > invalidate. The next patch will do this across all MM.
    >
    > This change is completely cosmetic.
    >
    > [v9: akpm@linux-foundation.org: change "flush" to "invalidate", part 3]
    >
    > Signed-off-by: Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
    > Reviewed-by: Konrad Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
    > Cc: Kamezawa Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
    > Cc: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
    > Cc: Seth Jennings <sjenning@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    > Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
    > Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
    > Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    > Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
    > Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx>
    > Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com>
    > Cc: Rik Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    > Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    > [v10: Fixed fs: move code out of buffer.c conflict change]
    > Signed-off-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
    > ---
    > Documentation/vm/cleancache.txt | 37 +++++++++++++++++++------------------
    > fs/block_dev.c | 2 +-
    > fs/super.c | 2 +-
    > include/linux/cleancache.h | 23 ++++++++++++++---------
    > mm/cleancache.c | 19 ++++++++++---------
    > mm/filemap.c | 2 +-
    > mm/truncate.c | 10 +++++-----
    > 7 files changed, 51 insertions(+), 44 deletions(-)
    snip
    > diff --git a/fs/block_dev.c b/fs/block_dev.c
    > index 69a5b6f..d6d5f29 100644
    > --- a/fs/block_dev.c
    > +++ b/fs/block_dev.c
    > @@ -110,7 +110,7 @@ void invalidate_bdev(struct block_device *bdev)
    > /* 99% of the time, we don't need to flush the cleancache on the bdev.
    > * But, for the strange corners, lets be cautious
    > */
    > - cleancache_flush_inode(mapping);
    > + cleancache_invalidate_inode(mapping);
    > }
    > EXPORT_SYMBOL(invalidate_bdev);

    This hunk doesn't merge cleanly because there is no existing
    cleancache code in fs/block_dev.c in v3.2 or any previous version.

    Looking at the git log, doesn't look like any cleancache code was
    ever merged into this file.

    --
    Seth




    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2012-01-13 16:21    [W:0.024 / U:29.508 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site