lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jul]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: [PATCH v5 3/9] KVM-HDR: KVM Steal time implementation
    On Mon, 04 Jul 2011, Glauber Costa wrote:

    > To implement steal time, we need the hypervisor to pass the guest information
    > about how much time was spent running other processes outside the VM.
    > This is per-vcpu, and using the kvmclock structure for that is an abuse
    > we decided not to make.
    >
    > In this patchset, I am introducing a new msr, KVM_MSR_STEAL_TIME, that
    > holds the memory area address containing information about steal time
    >
    > This patch contains the headers for it. I am keeping it separate to facilitate
    > backports to people who wants to backport the kernel part but not the
    > hypervisor, or the other way around.
    >
    > Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@redhat.com>
    > CC: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    > CC: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
    > CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    > CC: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
    > CC: Anthony Liguori <aliguori@us.ibm.com>
    > CC: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>

    Tested-by: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
    [unhandled content-type:application/pgp-signature]
    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2011-07-05 21:39    [W:0.022 / U:0.596 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site