lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jun]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 4/9] KVM-HV: KVM Steal time implementation
On Wed, 29 Jun 2011, Glauber Costa wrote:

> To implement steal time, we need the hypervisor to pass the guest information
> about how much time was spent running other processes outside the VM.
> This is per-vcpu, and using the kvmclock structure for that is an abuse
> we decided not to make.
>
> In this patchset, I am introducing a new msr, KVM_MSR_STEAL_TIME, that
> holds the memory area address containing information about steal time
>
> This patch contains the hypervisor part for it. I am keeping it separate from
> the headers to facilitate backports to people who wants to backport the kernel
> part but not the hypervisor, or the other way around.
>
> Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@redhat.com>
> CC: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
> CC: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
> CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> CC: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
> CC: Anthony Liguori <aliguori@us.ibm.com>
> CC: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>

Tested-by: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>

[unhandled content-type:application/pgp-signature]
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-06-29 23:59    [W:0.205 / U:0.028 seconds]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans