lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jun]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: [PATCH 6/7] KVM-GST: adjust scheduler cpu power
    On Mon, 13 Jun 2011, Glauber Costa wrote:

    > This is a first proposal for using steal time information
    > to influence the scheduler. There are a lot of optimizations
    > and fine grained adjustments to be done, but it is working reasonably
    > so far for me (mostly)
    >
    > With this patch (and some host pinnings to demonstrate the situation),
    > two vcpus with very different steal time (Say 80 % vs 1 %) will not get
    > an even distribution of processes. This is a situation that can naturally
    > arise, specially in overcommited scenarios. Previosly, the guest scheduler
    > would wrongly think that all cpus have the same ability to run processes,
    > lowering the overall throughput.
    >
    > Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@redhat.com>
    > CC: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    > CC: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
    > CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    > CC: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
    > CC: Anthony Liguori <aliguori@us.ibm.com>
    > CC: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>

    Tested-by: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
    [unhandled content-type:application/pgp-signature]
    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2011-06-14 03:23    [W:0.023 / U:0.460 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site