lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jun]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[015/146] ath9k_hw: fix power for the HT40 duplicate frames
2.6.38-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let us know.

------------------

From: Luis R. Rodriguez <lrodriguez@atheros.com>

commit cf3a03b9c99a0b2715741d116f50f513f545bb2d upstream.

With AR9003 at about ~ 10 feet from an AP that uses RTS / CTS you
will be able to associate but not not get data through given that
the power for the rates used was set too low. This increases the
power and permits data connectivity at longer distances from
access points when connected with HT40. Without this you will not
get any data through when associated to APs configured in HT40
at about more than 10 feet away.

Cc: Fiona Cain <fcain@atheros.com>
Cc: Zhen Xie <Zhen.Xie@Atheros.com>
Cc: Kathy Giori <kathy.giori@atheros.com>
Cc: Neha Choksi <neha.choksi@atheros.com>
Cc: Wayne Daniel <wayne.daniel@atheros.com>
Cc: Gaurav Jauhar <gaurav.jauhar@atheros.com>
Cc: Samira Naraghi <samira.naraghi@atheros.com>
CC: Ashok Chennupati <ashok.chennupati@atheros.com>
Cc: Lance Zimmerman <lance.zimmerman@atheros.com>
Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <lrodriguez@atheros.com>
Signed-off-by: John W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>

---
drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ar9003_eeprom.c | 10 ++++++++++
1 file changed, 10 insertions(+)

--- a/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ar9003_eeprom.c
+++ b/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ar9003_eeprom.c
@@ -3994,6 +3994,16 @@ static int ar9003_hw_tx_power_regwrite(s
POW_SM(pPwrArray[ALL_TARGET_LEGACY_1L_5L], 0)
);

+ /* Write the power for duplicated frames - HT40 */
+
+ /* dup40_cck (LSB), dup40_ofdm, ext20_cck, ext20_ofdm (MSB) */
+ REG_WRITE(ah, 0xa3e0,
+ POW_SM(pPwrArray[ALL_TARGET_LEGACY_6_24], 24) |
+ POW_SM(pPwrArray[ALL_TARGET_LEGACY_1L_5L], 16) |
+ POW_SM(pPwrArray[ALL_TARGET_LEGACY_6_24], 8) |
+ POW_SM(pPwrArray[ALL_TARGET_LEGACY_1L_5L], 0)
+ );
+
/* Write the HT20 power per rate set */

/* 0/8/16 (LSB), 1-3/9-11/17-19, 4, 5 (MSB) */



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-06-01 11:31    [W:0.581 / U:1.076 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site