lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [May]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [patch v3] checkpatch: Signature format verification
From
Date
On Mon, 2011-05-23 at 23:07 +0530, anish singh wrote:
> On Mon, May 23, 2011 at 10:48 PM, Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> wrote:
> On Mon, 2011-05-23 at 22:36 +0530, anish singh wrote:
> > > if ($1 !~ /[\sa-zA-Z\"]*\s<.*>/i) {
> > > WARN("Space required b/w Full Name & Mail-id:\n" .
> > > $herecurr);
> > > Quote has been taken care too now.
> > If you're going to try to validate email addresses,
> > please do it reasonably correctly or not at all.
> > At a minimum you need to add digits, single quote,
> > period, and comma.
> I think there is a confusion.Let me state it once again.
> This patch is used to check space between "signs" & name/ name &
> mail-id.

I'm not confused.

You are only checking names with this form (without quotes)
"First Last <fl@domain.tld>", now quoted as well.

Names can have many forms.

8 bit chars, commas, quotes, apostrophes, all sorts of things.

for instance:

$ git log v2.6.36.. | grep -P "by:.*" | \
grep -vP "by:[\sa-zA-Z\"]*\s<.*>" | \
sort | uniq -c | sort -rn | head -20
3421 Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
3137 Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
2232 Signed-off-by: John W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
386 Signed-off-by: Wey-Yi Guy <wey-yi.w.guy@intel.com>
292 Signed-off-by: Gustavo F. Padovan <padovan@profusion.mobi>
257 Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
223 Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
193 Signed-off-by: J. Bruce Fields <bfields@redhat.com>
167 Signed-off-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
166 Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
159 Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
126 Signed-off-by: Jean-François Moine <moinejf@free.fr>
121 Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <lrodriguez@atheros.com>
107 Signed-off-by: Michał Mirosław <mirq-linux@rere.qmqm.pl>
106 Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
103 Signed-off-by: Rafał Miłecki <zajec5@gmail.com>
76 Signed-off-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
69 Signed-off-by: Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>
66 Signed-off-by: Stephen M. Cameron <scameron@beardog.cce.hp.com>
63 Signed-off-by: Justin P. Mattock <justinmattock@gmail.com>

I still think what I suggested after your first patch
attempt is simple and appropriate.

our $Valid_Signatures "(?:Signed-off-by:|Reviewed-by:|Acked-by:)"
...
if ($line =~ /^(\s*)($ValidSignatures)(\s*)(.*)$/i) {
my $space_before = $1;
my $sign_off = $2;
my $space_after = $3;
my $email = $4;
if (defined $space_before && $space_before ne "") {
warning (no space before...)
}
if ($sign_off !~ /$Valid_Signature/) {
warning (signature case...)
}
if (!defined $space_after || $space_after ne " ") {
warning (need only one space after colon...)
}
if (!validate_email($4)) {
warning (bad email...)


--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-05-23 20:11    [W:0.048 / U:6.212 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site