lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [May]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 9/9] Consolidate CONFIG_DEBUG_STRICT_USER_COPY_CHECKS
Date
On Friday 13 May 2011, Stephen Boyd wrote:
> The help text for this config is duplicated across the x86,
> parisc, and s390 Kconfig.debug files. Arnd Bergman noted that the
> help text was slightly misleading and should be fixed to state
> that enabling this option isn't a problem when using pre 4.4 gcc.
>
> To simplify the rewording, consolidate the text into
> lib/Kconfig.debug and modify it there to be more explicit about
> when you should say N to this config.
>
> Also, make the text a bit more generic by stating that this
> option enables compile time checks so we can cover architectures
> which emit warnings vs. ones which emit errors. The details of
> how an architecture decided to implement the checks isn't as
> important as the concept of compile time checking of
> copy_from_user() calls.
>
> While we're doing this, remove all the copy_from_user_overflow()
> code that's duplicated many times and place it into lib/ so that
> any architecture supporting this option can get the function for
> free.
>
> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Cc: linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
> Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>

Thanks for following up on this

Reviewed-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-05-14 22:37    [W:0.094 / U:1.676 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site