lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [May]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 9/9] Consolidate CONFIG_DEBUG_STRICT_USER_COPY_CHECKS

* Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org> wrote:

> The help text for this config is duplicated across the x86,
> parisc, and s390 Kconfig.debug files. Arnd Bergman noted that the
> help text was slightly misleading and should be fixed to state
> that enabling this option isn't a problem when using pre 4.4 gcc.
>
> To simplify the rewording, consolidate the text into
> lib/Kconfig.debug and modify it there to be more explicit about
> when you should say N to this config.
>
> Also, make the text a bit more generic by stating that this
> option enables compile time checks so we can cover architectures
> which emit warnings vs. ones which emit errors. The details of
> how an architecture decided to implement the checks isn't as
> important as the concept of compile time checking of
> copy_from_user() calls.
>
> While we're doing this, remove all the copy_from_user_overflow()
> code that's duplicated many times and place it into lib/ so that
> any architecture supporting this option can get the function for
> free.
>
> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Cc: linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
> Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
> ---
> arch/parisc/Kconfig | 1 +
> arch/parisc/Kconfig.debug | 14 --------------
> arch/s390/Kconfig | 1 +
> arch/s390/Kconfig.debug | 14 --------------
> arch/s390/lib/Makefile | 1 -
> arch/s390/lib/usercopy.c | 8 --------
> arch/sparc/lib/Makefile | 1 -
> arch/sparc/lib/usercopy.c | 8 --------
> arch/tile/Kconfig | 8 +-------
> arch/tile/include/asm/uaccess.h | 7 ++++++-
> arch/tile/lib/uaccess.c | 8 --------
> arch/x86/Kconfig | 1 +
> arch/x86/Kconfig.debug | 14 --------------
> arch/x86/lib/usercopy_32.c | 6 ------
> arch/x86/lib/usercopy_64.c | 6 ------
> lib/Kconfig.debug | 18 ++++++++++++++++++
> lib/Makefile | 1 +
> lib/usercopy.c | 8 ++++++++
> 18 files changed, 37 insertions(+), 88 deletions(-)
> delete mode 100644 arch/s390/lib/usercopy.c
> delete mode 100644 arch/sparc/lib/usercopy.c
> create mode 100644 lib/usercopy.c

Very nice!

Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>

Ingo


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-05-13 09:33    [W:0.165 / U:22.864 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site