lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Apr]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: [stable] [PATCH V4] futex: set FLAGS_HAS_TIMEOUT during demux for FUTEX_WAIT
    On 04/14/2011 02:56 PM, Greg KH wrote:
    > On Thu, Apr 14, 2011 at 02:43:01PM -0700, Darren Hart wrote:
    >> The FLAGS_HAS_TIMEOUT flag was not getting set, causing the restart_block to
    >> restart futex_wait() without a timeout after a signal.
    >>
    >> Commit b41277dc7a18ee332d in 2.6.38 introduced the regression by accidentally
    >> removing the the FLAGS_HAS_TIMEOUT assignment from futex_wait() during the setup
    >> of the restart block. Restore the originaly behavior.
    >>
    >> Fixes: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=32922
    >>
    >> V2: Added references to commit message.
    >> V3: Set flag during restart block instead of do_futex()
    >> V4: Correct stupid order of assignment mistake pointed out by Eric
    >>
    >> Signed-off-by: Darren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com>
    >> Reported-by: Tim Smith <tsmith201104@yahoo.com>
    >> Reported-by: Torsten Hilbrich <torsten.hilbrich@secunet.com>
    >> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    >> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    >> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    >> CC: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
    >> CC: John Kacur <jkacur@redhat.com>
    >> ---
    >
    > This is not the correct way to submit patches for inclusion in the
    > stable kernel tree. Please read Documentation/stable_kernel_rules.txt
    > for how to do this properly.

    Sigh, apologies. Fixing, will add stable to CC: in changelog. Gives me a
    chance to improve the subject anyway.

    Ingo, Greg, please ignore this and the previous V[123] patches.

    --
    Darren Hart
    Intel Open Source Technology Center
    Yocto Project - Linux Kernel


    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2011-04-15 00:17    [W:0.021 / U:62.936 seconds]
    ©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site