lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Apr]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[34-longterm 033/209] um: remove PAGE_SIZE alignment in linker script causing kernel segfault.
Date
From: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>

=====================================================================
| This is a commit scheduled for the next v2.6.34 longterm release. |
| If you see a problem with using this for longterm, please comment.|
=====================================================================

commit 6915e04f8847bea16d0890f559694ad8eedd026c upstream.

The linker script cleanup that I did in commit 5d150a97f93 ("um: Clean up
linker script using standard macros.") (2.6.32) accidentally introduced an
ALIGN(PAGE_SIZE) when converting to use INIT_TEXT_SECTION; Richard
Weinberger reported that this causes the kernel to segfault with
CONFIG_STATIC_LINK=y.

I'm not certain why this extra alignment is a problem, but it seems likely
it is because previously

__init_begin = _stext = _text = _sinittext

and with the extra ALIGN(PAGE_SIZE), _sinittext becomes different from the
rest. So there is likely a bug here where something is assuming that
_sinittext is the same as one of those other symbols. But reverting the
accidental change fixes the regression, so it seems worth committing that
now.

Signed-off-by: Tim Abbott <tabbott@ksplice.com>
Reported-by: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
Tested by: Antoine Martin <antoine@nagafix.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
---
arch/um/kernel/uml.lds.S | 2 +-
1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/um/kernel/uml.lds.S b/arch/um/kernel/uml.lds.S
index e7a6cca..664f942 100644
--- a/arch/um/kernel/uml.lds.S
+++ b/arch/um/kernel/uml.lds.S
@@ -22,7 +22,7 @@ SECTIONS
_text = .;
_stext = .;
__init_begin = .;
- INIT_TEXT_SECTION(PAGE_SIZE)
+ INIT_TEXT_SECTION(0)
. = ALIGN(PAGE_SIZE);

.text :
--
1.7.4.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-04-14 20:33    [W:0.342 / U:2.008 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site