lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Feb]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[205/272] perf: Find_get_context: fix the per-cpu-counter check
2.6.37-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let us know.

------------------

From: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>

commit 22a4ec729017ba613337a28f306f94ba5023fe2e upstream.

If task == NULL, find_get_context() should always check that cpu
is correct.

Afaics, the bug was introduced by 38a81da2 "perf events: Clean
up pid passing", but even before that commit "&& cpu != -1" was
not exactly right, -ESRCH from find_task_by_vpid() is not
accurate.

Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
LKML-Reference: <20110118161008.GB693@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>

---
kernel/perf_event.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/kernel/perf_event.c
+++ b/kernel/perf_event.c
@@ -2100,7 +2100,7 @@ find_get_context(struct pmu *pmu, struct
unsigned long flags;
int ctxn, err;

- if (!task && cpu != -1) {
+ if (!task) {
/* Must be root to operate on a CPU event: */
if (perf_paranoid_cpu() && !capable(CAP_SYS_ADMIN))
return ERR_PTR(-EACCES);



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-02-16 01:41    [W:0.511 / U:0.312 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site