lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jan]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    From
    SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/2] s390: Fix possibly wrong size in strncmp (smsglucv)
    Date
    Jesper Juhl <jj@chaosbits.net> writes:

    > On Sat, 29 Jan 2011, Stefan Weil wrote:
    >
    >> This error was reported by cppcheck:
    >> drivers/s390/net/smsgiucv.c:63: error: Using sizeof for array given as function argument returns the size of pointer.
    >>
    >> Although there is no runtime problem as long as sizeof(u8 *) == 8,
    >> this misleading code should get fixed.
    >>
    >> Cc: Ursula Braun <ursula.braun@de.ibm.com>
    >> Cc: linux390@de.ibm.com
    >> Cc: Frank Blaschka <blaschka@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    >> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    >> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    >> Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
    >> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
    >> Signed-off-by: Stefan Weil <weil@mail.berlios.de>
    >> ---
    >> drivers/s390/net/smsgiucv.c | 2 +-
    >> 1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
    >>
    >> diff --git a/drivers/s390/net/smsgiucv.c b/drivers/s390/net/smsgiucv.c
    >> index 65e1cf1..207b7d7 100644
    >> --- a/drivers/s390/net/smsgiucv.c
    >> +++ b/drivers/s390/net/smsgiucv.c
    >> @@ -60,7 +60,7 @@ static struct iucv_handler smsg_handler = {
    >> static int smsg_path_pending(struct iucv_path *path, u8 ipvmid[8],
    >> u8 ipuser[16])
    >> {
    >> - if (strncmp(ipvmid, "*MSG ", sizeof(ipvmid)) != 0)
    >> + if (strncmp(ipvmid, "*MSG ", 8) != 0)
    >
    > Hmm, shouldn't this really be ARRAY_SIZE(ipvmid) ??

    ARRAY_SIZE does not work for the same reason why sizeof does not work:
    ipvmid is not an array, it's a pointer.

    Andreas.

    --
    Andreas Schwab, schwab@linux-m68k.org
    GPG Key fingerprint = 58CA 54C7 6D53 942B 1756 01D3 44D5 214B 8276 4ED5
    "And now for something completely different."


    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2011-01-29 23:11    [W:0.024 / U:29.568 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site