lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jan]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [Patch] printk: move some loglevel setup functions to kernel/printk.c
于 2011年01月20日 04:18, Andrew Morton 写道:
>> Cc: WANG Cong<amwang@redhat.com>, Ingo Molnar<mingo@elte.hu> (commit_signer:8/43=19%,commit_signer:4/26=15%), Andrew Morton<akpm@linux-foundation.org> (commit_signer:7/43=16%,commit_signer:9/26=35%), Peter Zijlstra<a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> (commit_signer:5/43=12%), Tejun Heo<tj@kernel.org> (commit_signer:4/43=9%), Arnd Bergmann<arnd@arndb.de> (commit_signer:3/43=7%), James Morris<jmorris@namei.org> (commit_signer:6/26=23%), Kees Cook<kees.cook@canonical.com> (commit_signer:4/26=15%), Namhyung Kim<namhyung@gmail.com> (commit_signer:3/26=12%)
>
> Pease don't do that.
>

Sorry for this, I used get_maintainers.pl in my script,
and now I fixed my script. :-/

> On Wed, 19 Jan 2011 15:29:24 +0800
> Amerigo Wang<amwang@redhat.com> wrote:
>
>> These parameter setup functions should go to kernel/printk.c,
>
> That makes sense.
>
>> and should also be under CONFIG_PRINTK.
>
> Not so sure about that. console_loglevel pertains to the console
> system more than to printk. And the console layer is present even when
> CONFIG_PRINTK=n.


Such as?

>
> Now, it may be that console_loglevel never does anything useful when
> CONFIG_PRINTK=n. In which case one wonders why the console code exists
> when CONFIG_PRINTK=n.
>
> Anyway. I didn't look at all this terribly hard. Please demonstrate
> to us that you did do so :)
>

With CONFIG_PRINTK=n we still have consoles and can still register
other consoles, but there will be no messages printed from kernel
to console. So, I think "quiet" is only meaningful to CONFIG_PRINTK=y.

Thanks.
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-01-20 08:39    [W:0.178 / U:0.176 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site