lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Sep]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[072/123] sched: Make wakeup side and atomic variants of completion API irq safe
From: Rafael J.Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>

commit 7539a3b3d1f892dd97eaf094134d7de55c13befe upstream

Alan Stern noticed that all the wakeup side (and atomic) variants of the
completion APIs should be irq safe, but the newly introduced
completion_done() and try_wait_for_completion() aren't. The use of the
irq unsafe variants in IRQ contexts can cause crashes/hangs.

Fix the problem by making them use spin_lock_irqsave() and
spin_lock_irqrestore().

Reported-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Cc: pm list <linux-pm@lists.linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: David Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Lachlan McIlroy <lachlan@sgi.com>
LKML-Reference: <200912130007.30541.rjw@sisk.pl>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Signed-off-by: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
---
kernel/sched.c | 10 ++++++----
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

--- a/kernel/sched.c
+++ b/kernel/sched.c
@@ -5947,14 +5947,15 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(wait_for_completion_killab
*/
bool try_wait_for_completion(struct completion *x)
{
+ unsigned long flags;
int ret = 1;

- spin_lock_irq(&x->wait.lock);
+ spin_lock_irqsave(&x->wait.lock, flags);
if (!x->done)
ret = 0;
else
x->done--;
- spin_unlock_irq(&x->wait.lock);
+ spin_unlock_irqrestore(&x->wait.lock, flags);
return ret;
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(try_wait_for_completion);
@@ -5969,12 +5970,13 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(try_wait_for_completion);
*/
bool completion_done(struct completion *x)
{
+ unsigned long flags;
int ret = 1;

- spin_lock_irq(&x->wait.lock);
+ spin_lock_irqsave(&x->wait.lock, flags);
if (!x->done)
ret = 0;
- spin_unlock_irq(&x->wait.lock);
+ spin_unlock_irqrestore(&x->wait.lock, flags);
return ret;
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(completion_done);



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-09-18 21:49    [W:0.398 / U:11.520 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site