lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Apr]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[122/139] modules: fix incorrect percpu usage
2.6.33-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let us know.

------------------

From: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>

Mainline does not need this fix, as commit
259354deaaf03d49a02dbb9975d6ec2a54675672 fixed the problem by refactoring.

Should use per_cpu_ptr() to obfuscate the per cpu pointers (RELOC_HIDE is needed
for per cpu pointers).

Introduced by commit:

module.c: commit 6b588c18f8dacfa6d7957c33c5ff832096e752d3

This patch should be queued for the stable branch, for kernels 2.6.29.x to
2.6.33.x. (tested on 2.6.33.1 x86_64)

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
CC: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
CC: Eric Dumazet <dada1@cosmosbay.com>
CC: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
CC: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
CC: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
CC: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
CC: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>

---
kernel/module.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/kernel/module.c
+++ b/kernel/module.c
@@ -405,7 +405,7 @@ static void percpu_modcopy(void *pcpudes
int cpu;

for_each_possible_cpu(cpu)
- memcpy(pcpudest + per_cpu_offset(cpu), from, size);
+ memcpy(per_cpu_ptr(pcpudest, cpu), from, size);
}

#else /* ... !CONFIG_SMP */



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-04-22 22:09    [W:0.212 / U:1.048 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site