lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Nov]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
SubjectRe: -tip tree resume fail, bisect to 5bd5a45(x86: Add NX protection for kernel data)
From
Date
On Tue, 2010-11-30 at 13:00 +0800, Lin Ming wrote:
> echo 0 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online;
> echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online;
>
> then machine just reboots...
>

That should work on current -tip (and my test machine confirms with a
-tip of yesterday) due to:

---
commit 691513f70d3957939a318da970987b876c720861
Author: Lin Ming <ming.m.lin@intel.com>
Date: Mon Nov 22 14:03:28 2010 +0100

x86: Resume trampoline must be executable

commit 5bd5a452(x86: Add NX protection for kernel data) marked the
trampoline area NX - which unsurprisingly breaks resume and cpu
hotplug.

Revert the portion of that commit, which touches the trampoline.

Originally-from: Lin Ming <ming.m.lin@intel.com>
LKML-Reference: <1290410581.2405.24.camel@minggr.sh.intel.com>
Cc: Matthieu Castet <castet.matthieu@free.fr>
Cc: Siarhei Liakh <sliakh.lkml@gmail.com>
Cc: Xuxian Jiang <jiang@cs.ncsu.edu>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@infradead.org>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Tested-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/init_64.c b/arch/x86/mm/init_64.c
index ce59c05..71a5929 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/init_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/init_64.c
@@ -788,7 +788,6 @@ void mark_rodata_ro(void)
unsigned long rodata_start =
((unsigned long)__start_rodata + PAGE_SIZE - 1) & PAGE_MASK;
unsigned long end = (unsigned long) &__end_rodata_hpage_align;
- unsigned long kernel_end = (((unsigned long)&__init_end + HPAGE_SIZE) & HPAGE_MASK);
unsigned long text_end = PAGE_ALIGN((unsigned long) &__stop___ex_table);
unsigned long rodata_end = PAGE_ALIGN((unsigned long) &__end_rodata);
unsigned long data_start = (unsigned long) &_sdata;
@@ -803,7 +802,7 @@ void mark_rodata_ro(void)
* The rodata section (but not the kernel text!) should also be
* not-executable.
*/
- set_memory_nx(rodata_start, (kernel_end - rodata_start) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
+ set_memory_nx(rodata_start, (end - rodata_start) >> PAGE_SHIFT);

rodata_test();



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-11-30 12:29    [W:0.138 / U:13.948 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site