lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Nov]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] mm: remove call to find_vma in pagewalk for non-hugetlbfs
On Fri, Nov 19, 2010 at 01:39:57AM +0100, David Sterba wrote:
> Commit d33b9f45 introduces a check if a vma is a hugetlbfs one and
> later in 5dc37642 is moved under #ifdef CONFIG_HUGETLB_PAGE but
> a needless find_vma call is left behind and it's result not used
> anywhere else in the function.
>
> The sideefect of caching vma for @addr inside walk->mm is neither
> utilized in walk_page_range() nor in called functions.
>
> Signed-off-by: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.cz>
> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Andy Whitcroft <apw@canonical.com>
> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
> Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
> Cc: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
> Cc: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>

Well spotted.

Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>

--
Mel Gorman
Part-time Phd Student Linux Technology Center
University of Limerick IBM Dublin Software Lab


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-11-19 12:37    [W:0.034 / U:0.468 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site