lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Aug]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: [PATCH v4 0/4] tracing: tweaks for generic syscall events

    * Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> wrote:

    > On Mon, Aug 24, 2009 at 02:43:10PM -0700, Josh Stone wrote:
    > > This patch series moves the callbacks for the syscall tracepoints to the
    > > definition site, and adds generic TRACE_EVENTs which capture all syscall
    > > arguments.
    > >
    > > New in v3:
    > > - Give the thread flag a more generic name: TIF_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINT.
    > > - Move the regfuncs to arch-specific files, per Jason's suggestion.
    > > - Change _WITH_CALLBACK to just _FN, per Ingo's suggestion.
    > >
    > > New in v4:
    > > - Give the config flag a more generic name: HAVE_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINTS.
    > > - Undo the arch reorg of the regfuncs, but conditionalize on above.
    > >
    > >
    > > Sample trace output:
    > > sendmail-974 [000] 55665.464492: sys_enter: NR 14 (1, 7fff60f3af40, 7fff60f3aec0, 8, 0, 7fb1b6a05161)
    > >
    > > sendmail-974 [000] 55665.464496: sys_exit: NR 14 = 0
    > >
    > > sendmail-974 [000] 55665.464507: sys_enter: NR 23 (5, 7fff60f3b0d0, 0, 0, 7fff60f3b150, 7fff60f3ef01)
    > >
    > > sshd-978 [000] 55667.845359: sys_exit: NR 23 = 1
    > >
    > > sshd-978 [000] 55667.845373: sys_enter: NR 14 (0, 7fffc645ce90, 7fffc645cf10, 8, 0, 101010101010101)
    > >
    > > sshd-978 [000] 55667.845381: sys_exit: NR 14 = 0
    > >
    > > sshd-978 [000] 55667.845383: sys_enter: NR 14 (2, 7fffc645cf10, 0, 8, 0, 101010101010101)
    > >
    > > sshd-978 [000] 55667.845386: sys_exit: NR 14 = 0
    > >
    > > sshd-978 [000] 55667.845395: sys_enter: NR 0 (3, 7fffc6458f80, 4000, 1, 0, 0)
    > >
    > > sshd-978 [000] 55667.845478: sys_exit: NR 0 = 48
    > >
    > >
    > > Signed-off-by: Josh Stone <jistone@redhat.com>
    > > Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
    > > Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
    > > Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    > > Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com>
    > > Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    > > Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    > > Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@polymtl.ca>
    > > Cc: Jiaying Zhang <jiayingz@google.com>
    > > Cc: Martin Bligh <mbligh@google.com>
    > > Cc: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
    > > Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
    >
    >
    > Acked-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>

    How about compat syscalls? If we touch this code we better cover
    them as well.

    Ingo


    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2009-08-25 12:31    [W:0.026 / U:0.540 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site