lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [May]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject
Date
This series:
* removes the swiotlb_(arch_)_phys_to_bus and bus_to_phys __weak
hooks, replacing them with an architecture-specific phys_to_dma and
dma_to_phys interface. These are used by both PowerPC and Xen to
provide the correct mapping from physical to DMA addresses.
* removes the swiotlb_address_needs_mapping and
swiotlb_range_needs_mapping __weak functions as well as
is_buffer_dma_capable (which should never have been a generic
function). All three are replaced by a single architecture-specific
interface which meets the needs of both PowerPC and Xen.
* removes the swiotlb_virt_to_bus __weak function and replaces it with
a CONFIG_HIGHMEM compatible version when high memory is in use. This
is needed for 32 bit PowerPC swiotlb support.

I think these new interfaces are cleaner than the existing __weak
functions and isolate the swiotlb code from architecture internals.

This series does not contain any Xen or PowerPC specific changes, those
will follow in separate postings. The complete patchset has been boot
tested under Xen and native-x86 and compiled for IA64 and PowerPC

Signed-off-by: Ian Campbell <ian.campbell@citrix.com>
Cc: Becky Bruce <beckyb@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: FUJITA Tomonori <fujita.tomonori@lab.ntt.co.jp>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@suse.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
Cc: Kumar Gala <galak@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Olaf Kirch <okir@suse.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org
Cc: x86@kernel.org


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-05-29 10:47    [W:0.073 / U:30.696 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site