lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Apr]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    Patch in this message
    /
    Date
    From
    Subject[patch 18/88] x86, PAT, PCI: Change vma prot in pci_mmap to reflect inherited prot
    2.6.28-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let us know.

    ------------------

    From: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venkatesh.pallipadi@intel.com>

    upstream commit: 9cdec049389ce2c324fd1ec508a71528a27d4a07

    While looking at the issue in the thread:

    http://marc.info/?l=dri-devel&m=123606627824556&w=2

    noticed a bug in pci PAT code and memory type setting.

    PCI mmap code did not set the proper protection in vma, when it
    inherited protection in reserve_memtype. This bug only affects
    the case where there exists a WC mapping before X does an mmap
    with /proc or /sys pci interface. This will cause X userlevel
    mmap from /proc or /sysfs to fail on fork.

    Reported-by: Kevin Winchester <kjwinchester@gmail.com>
    Signed-off-by: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venkatesh.pallipadi@intel.com>
    Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
    Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
    Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
    LKML-Reference: <20090323190720.GA16831@linux-os.sc.intel.com>
    Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Signed-off-by: Chris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org>
    Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
    ---
    arch/x86/pci/i386.c | 3 +++
    1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

    --- a/arch/x86/pci/i386.c
    +++ b/arch/x86/pci/i386.c
    @@ -329,6 +329,9 @@ int pci_mmap_page_range(struct pci_dev *
    return -EINVAL;
    }
    flags = new_flags;
    + vma->vm_page_prot = __pgprot(
    + (pgprot_val(vma->vm_page_prot) & ~_PAGE_CACHE_MASK) |
    + flags);
    }

    if (((vma->vm_pgoff < max_low_pfn_mapped) ||



    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2009-04-30 19:17    [W:0.019 / U:210.968 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site