lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Dec]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH -tip 5/8] perf probe: Support vmlinux on cwd by default
Date
Support vmlinux on current working direcotry by default and
also update file-open messages.
Now perf probe searches ./vmlinux too.

Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: K.Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---

tools/perf/builtin-probe.c | 10 ++++++----
1 files changed, 6 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-probe.c b/tools/perf/builtin-probe.c
index 1347fdf..1c97e13 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-probe.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-probe.c
@@ -43,11 +43,12 @@
#include "util/probe-event.h"

/* Default vmlinux search paths */
-#define NR_SEARCH_PATH 3
+#define NR_SEARCH_PATH 4
const char *default_search_path[NR_SEARCH_PATH] = {
"/lib/modules/%s/build/vmlinux", /* Custom build kernel */
"/usr/lib/debug/lib/modules/%s/vmlinux", /* Red Hat debuginfo */
"/boot/vmlinux-debug-%s", /* Ubuntu */
+"./vmlinux", /* CWD */
};

#define MAX_PATH_LEN 256
@@ -205,13 +206,14 @@ int cmd_probe(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix __used)
#else /* !NO_LIBDWARF */
pr_debug("Some probes require debuginfo.\n");

- if (session.vmlinux)
+ if (session.vmlinux) {
+ pr_debug("Try to open %s.", session.vmlinux);
fd = open(session.vmlinux, O_RDONLY);
- else
+ } else
fd = open_default_vmlinux();
if (fd < 0) {
if (session.need_dwarf)
- die("Could not open vmlinux/module file.");
+ die("Could not open debuginfo file.");

pr_debug("Could not open vmlinux/module file."
" Try to use symbols.\n");

--
Masami Hiramatsu

Software Engineer
Hitachi Computer Products (America), Inc.
Software Solutions Division

e-mail: mhiramat@redhat.com


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-12-08 23:03    [W:0.125 / U:8.292 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site