lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Nov]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH -tip 4/9] perf probe: Fix argv array size in probe parser
Date
Since the syntax had been changed, probe definition needs parameters
less than MAX_PROBE_ARGS + 1 (probe-point + arguments).

Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: K.Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/builtin-probe.c | 11 +++++++----
1 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-probe.c b/tools/perf/builtin-probe.c
index 4e418af..510fdd4 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-probe.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-probe.c
@@ -151,7 +151,7 @@ static void parse_probe_point(char *arg, struct probe_point *pp)
/* Parse an event definition. Note that any error must die. */
static void parse_probe_event(const char *str)
{
- char *argv[MAX_PROBE_ARGS + 2]; /* Event + probe + args */
+ char *argv[MAX_PROBE_ARGS + 1]; /* probe + args */
int argc, i;
struct probe_point *pp = &session.probes[session.nr_probe];

@@ -169,6 +169,9 @@ static void parse_probe_event(const char *str)
/* Add an argument */
if (*str != '\0') {
const char *s = str;
+ /* Check the limit number of arguments */
+ if (argc == MAX_PROBE_ARGS + 1)
+ semantic_error("Too many arguments");

/* Skip the argument */
while (!isspace(*str) && *str != '\0')
@@ -178,9 +181,9 @@ static void parse_probe_event(const char *str)
argv[argc] = strndup(s, str - s);
if (argv[argc] == NULL)
die("strndup");
- if (++argc == MAX_PROBE_ARGS)
- semantic_error("Too many arguments");
- pr_debug("argv[%d]=%s\n", argc, argv[argc - 1]);
+ pr_debug("argv[%d]=%s\n", argc, argv[argc]);
+ argc++;
+
}
} while (*str != '\0');
if (!argc)

--
Masami Hiramatsu

Software Engineer
Hitachi Computer Products (America), Inc.
Software Solutions Division

e-mail: mhiramat@redhat.com


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-12-01 01:27    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans