lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2008]   [Jan]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject2.6.24-rc8-git1: Reported regressions from 2.6.23
Date
This message contains a list of some regressions from 2.6.23 reported since
2.6.24-rc1 was released, for which there are no fixes in the mainline I know
of.  If any of them have been fixed already, please let me know.

If you know of any other unresolved regressions from 2.6.23, please let me know
either and I'll add them to the list.  Also, please let me know if any of the
entries below are invalid.

Listed regressions statistics:

Date Total Pending Unresolved
----------------------------------------
Today 157 25 12
2008-01-12 150 28 14
2008-01-05 139 28 15
2008-01-01 139 38 23
2007-12-21 118 21 13
2007-12-18 115 29 15
2007-12-12 106 31 17
2007-12-08 98 29 19
2007-12-01 85 29 18
2007-11-24 75 25 21
2007-11-19 68 26 21
2007-11-17 65 25 20

Unresolved regressions
----------------------
Subject : EHCI causes system to resume instantly from S4
Submitter : Maxim Levitsky <maximlevitsky@gmail.com>
Date : 2007-10-28 14:56
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/10/27/66
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9258
Handled-By : "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
David Brownell <david-b@pacbell.net>
Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Workaround : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9258#c30


Subject : SError: { DevExch } occuring and causing disruption
Submitter : Avuton Olrich <avuton@gmail.com>
Date : 2007-11-15 22:39
References : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9393
Handled-By : Tejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>
Mark Lord <mlord@pobox.com>

Subject : BUG: bad unlock balance detected!
Submitter : Krzysztof Oledzki <olel@ans.pl>
Date : 2007-12-11 03:17
References : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9542
Handled-By : Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>


Subject : swapping in 2.6.24-rc5-git3
Submitter : Lukas Hejtmanek <xhejtman@ics.muni.cz>
Date : 2007-12-17 14:04
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/12/17/98
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9592
Handled-By : Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>


Subject : Problems on booting
Submitter : "werner" <werner@copaya.yi.org>
Date : 2007-12-22 14:29
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/12/22/110
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9621


Subject : ACPI or radeon: spontaneous reboot regression
Submitter : Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
Date : 2007-12-22 16:09
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/12/22/139
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9624
Handled-By : Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>


Subject : lockdep warning with LTP dio test (v2.6.24-rc6-125-g5356f66)
Submitter : Erez Zadok <ezk@cs.sunysb.edu>
Date : 2007-12-24 18:02
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/12/24/107
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9670


Subject : kexec buffer error
Submitter : Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
Date : 2008-01-04 22:54
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/4/255
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9693


Subject : 2.6.24-rc7 -- WARNING: at kernel/lockdep.c:2662 check_flags()
Submitter : "Miles Lane" <miles.lane@gmail.com>
Date : 2008-01-07 04:34
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/6/313
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9737
Handled-By : Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>


Subject : [BUG] 2.6.24-rc5: 'sysctl table check failed' when turning on printer
Submitter : Frans Pop <elendil@planet.nl>
Date : 2007-12-16 21:19
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/12/16/121
http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/6/228
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9749
Handled-By : "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>


Subject : crash in kmem_cache_init
Submitter : Olaf Hering <olaf@aepfle.de>
Date : 2008-01-15 16:09
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/15/180
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9755
Handled-By : Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>


Subject : sky2 patch in 2.6.24-rc7-git6 breaks POST - commit 84cd2dfb04d23a961c5f537baa243fa54d0987ac
Submitter : "Ioan Ionita" <opslynx@gmail.com>
Date : 2008-01-15 12:01
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/15/98
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9756
Handled-By : Stephen Hemminger <stephen.hemminger@vyatta.com>


Regressionn with patches
------------------------
Subject : [2.6.24-rc6] pdflush still stuck in D state regression
Submitter : "Tvrtko A. Ursulin" <tvrtko@ursulin.net>
Date : 2007-11-02 09:54
References : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9291
Handled-By : Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=14219&action=view


Subject : snd_hda_intel 2.6.24-rc2 bug: interrupts don't always work on Lenovo X60s
Submitter : Roland Dreier <rdreier@cisco.com>
Date : 2007-11-08 14:55
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/11/8/255
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9332
Handled-By : Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Patch : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/11/16/66


Subject : jiffies counter leaps in 2.6.24-rc3
Submitter : Stefano Brivio <stefano.brivio@polimi.it>
Date : 2007-11-29 08:36
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/11/24/53
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9475
Handled-By : Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Patch : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/12/7/132


Subject : 2.6.24-rc4 hwmon it87 probe fails
Submitter : Mike Houston <mikeserv@bmts.com>
Date : 2007-12-06 17:10
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/12/4/466
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9514
Handled-By : Shaohua Li <shaohua.li@intel.com>
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=14267&action=view


Subject : RTNL: assertion failed at net/ipv6/addrconf.c (2164)/RTNL: assertion failed at net/ipv4/devinet.c (1055)
Submitter : Krzysztof Oledzki <olel@ans.pl>
Date : 2007-12-11 03:20
References : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9543
Handled-By : Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Jay Vosburgh <fubar@us.ibm.com>
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9543#c6


Subject : PATA_HPT37X embezzles two ports
Submitter : "Bjoern Olausson" <lkmlist@gmail.com>
Date : 2007-12-12 11:05
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/12/12/161
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9551
Handled-By : Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Patch : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/1/4/161


Subject : wake on lan fails with sky2 module
Submitter : cpo <supersud501@yahoo.de>
Date : 2008-01-09 13:05
References : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9721
http://marc.info/?t=119992349300001&r=1&w=4
Handled-By : Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@linux-foundation.org>
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=14455&action=view

Subject : psmouse.c: GlidePoint at isa0060/serio1/input0 lost sync at byte 1
Submitter : "Vegard Nossum" <vegard.nossum@gmail.com>
Date : 2007-11-14 21:26
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/11/14/363
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9727
Handled-By : Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
Patch : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/16/151


Subject : regression: sysctl_check changes in 2.6.24 are O(n) resulting in slow creation of 10000 network interfaces
Submitter : Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@kvack.org>
Date : 2008-01-06 23:03
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/6/248
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9736
Handled-By : "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Patch : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/7/60

Subject : Oops on boot from laptop mode writing to /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling
Submitter : Simon Huggins <huggie@earth.li>
Date : 2008-01-14 11:19
References : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9747
Handled-By : Alexey Starikovskiy <astarikovskiy@suse.de>
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=14456&action=view


Subject : fs/hfs/btree.c: new NULL dereference
Submitter : Adrian Bunk <bunk@kernel.org>
Date : 2008-01-14 13:17
References : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9748
Handled-By : Eric Sandeen <sandeen@redhat.com>
Patch : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/14/365


Subject : [REGRESSION] 2.6.24-rc7: e1000: Detected Tx Unit Hang
Submitter : Frans Pop <elendil@planet.nl>
Date : 2008-01-15 06:25
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/15/4
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9757
Handled-By : David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Patch : http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/1/16/2


Subject : radeonfb and Xpress 200m 5955
Submitter : Alex <alevkovich@tut.by>
Date : 2008-01-16 01:33
References : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9762
Handled-By : Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=14481&action=view


For details, please follow the links given in references.

As you can see, there is a Bugzilla entry for each of the listed regressions.
There also is a Bugzilla entry used for tracking the regressions from 2.6.23,
unresolved as well as resolved, at:

http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9243

Please let me know if there are any Bugzilla entries that should be added to
the list in there.

Thanks,
Rafael
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2008-01-18 00:35    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans