lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2006]   [Nov]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[patch 01/23] scsi: clear garbage after CDBs on SG_IO
-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let us know.
------------------

From: Tejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>

ATAPI devices transfer fixed number of bytes for CDBs (12 or 16). Some
ATAPI devices choke when shorter CDB is used and the left bytes contain
garbage. Block SG_IO cleared left bytes but SCSI SG_IO didn't. This patch
makes SCSI SG_IO clear it and simplify CDB clearing in block SG_IO.

Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>
Cc: Mathieu Fluhr <mfluhr@nero.com>
Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
Cc: Douglas Gilbert <dougg@torque.net>
Acked-by: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@pobox.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Chris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org>
---

block/scsi_ioctl.c | 3 +--
drivers/scsi/scsi_lib.c | 1 +
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- linux-2.6.18.4.orig/block/scsi_ioctl.c
+++ linux-2.6.18.4/block/scsi_ioctl.c
@@ -286,9 +286,8 @@ static int sg_io(struct file *file, requ
* fill in request structure
*/
rq->cmd_len = hdr->cmd_len;
+ memset(rq->cmd, 0, BLK_MAX_CDB); /* ATAPI hates garbage after CDB */
memcpy(rq->cmd, cmd, hdr->cmd_len);
- if (sizeof(rq->cmd) != hdr->cmd_len)
- memset(rq->cmd + hdr->cmd_len, 0, sizeof(rq->cmd) - hdr->cmd_len);

memset(sense, 0, sizeof(sense));
rq->sense = sense;
--- linux-2.6.18.4.orig/drivers/scsi/scsi_lib.c
+++ linux-2.6.18.4/drivers/scsi/scsi_lib.c
@@ -408,6 +408,7 @@ int scsi_execute_async(struct scsi_devic
goto free_req;

req->cmd_len = cmd_len;
+ memset(req->cmd, 0, BLK_MAX_CDB); /* ATAPI hates garbage after CDB */
memcpy(req->cmd, cmd, req->cmd_len);
req->sense = sioc->sense;
req->sense_len = 0;
--
-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2006-11-29 23:09    [W:0.104 / U:0.096 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site