lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2006]   [Nov]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[patch 10/30] init_reap_node() initialization fix
-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let us know.
------------------

From: Daniel Yeisley <dan.yeisley@unisys.com>

It looks like there is a bug in init_reap_node() in slab.c that can cause
multiple oops's on certain ES7000 configurations. The variable reap_node
is defined per cpu, but only initialized on a single CPU. This causes an
oops in next_reap_node() when __get_cpu_var(reap_node) returns the wrong
value. Fix is below.

Signed-off-by: Dan Yeisley <dan.yeisley@unisys.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Acked-by: Christoph Lameter <clameter@engr.sgi.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Chris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org>
---
mm/slab.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- linux-2.6.18.2.orig/mm/slab.c
+++ linux-2.6.18.2/mm/slab.c
@@ -867,7 +867,7 @@ static void init_reap_node(int cpu)
if (node == MAX_NUMNODES)
node = first_node(node_online_map);

- __get_cpu_var(reap_node) = node;
+ per_cpu(reap_node, cpu) = node;
}

static void next_reap_node(void)
--
-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2006-11-16 03:49    [W:0.246 / U:0.752 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site