lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2003]   [Aug]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: SOLUTION Re: 2.6.0-test3 cannot mount root fs
Date
Nope...  For the reported problem I had with grub and root=/dev/hda3, it was
with a fresh tar file.

As someone said, this "can't happen". And as someone else said, "It comes
and goes with random changes in .config file"

jeff

----- Original Message -----
From: "Norbert Preining" <preining@logic.at>
To: "gaxt" <gaxt@rogers.com>; "Henrik Ræder Clausen" <henrik@fangorn.dk>;
"Francois Romieu" <romieu@fr.zoreil.com>; <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>;
"Felipe Alfaro Solana" <felipe_alfaro@linuxmail.org>; "Mr. James W.
Laferriere" <babydr@baby-dragons.com>; "Brown, Len" <len.brown@intel.com>;
"Andrew Morton" <akpm@osdl.org>; "Mark W. Alexander"
<slash@dotnetslash.net>; "jeff millar" <wa1hco@adelphia.net>; "Thomas
Molina" <tmolina@cablespeed.com>; "Christian Mautner" <chm@istop.com>;
"Andrey Borzenkov" <arvidjaar@mail.ru>; "Herbert Pötzl"
<herbert@13thfloor.at>
Sent: Wednesday, August 13, 2003 2:15 AM
Subject: SOLUTION Re: 2.6.0-test3 cannot mount root fs


> On Die, 12 Aug 2003, Christian Mautner wrote:
> > Hast du auch einen kompletten Kernel tarball versucht? Wahrscheinlich
>
> The solution is:
> Get a COMPLETE linux-2.6.0-test3.tar.bz2
> and
> DO NOT USE patch
>
> I patched up the kernel from 2.5.20 or something and there seemed to be
> an error somewhere on the way up. Getting a *clean* kernel tar file,
> compile with the same .config, running.
>
> This is the use of patches!
>
> Best wishes
>
> Norbert
>
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------
-----
> Norbert Preining <preining AT logic DOT at> Technische Universität
Wien
> gpg DSA: 0x09C5B094 fp: 14DF 2E6C 0307 BE6D AD76 A9C0 D2BF 4AA3 09C5
B094
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------
-----
> AINDERBY STEEPLE (n.)
> One who asks you a question with the apparent motive of wanting to
> hear your answer, but who cuts short your opening sentence by leaning
> forward and saying 'and I'll tell you why I ask...' and then talking
> solidly for the next hour.
> --- Douglas Adams, The Meaning of Liff
>

-
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2005-03-22 13:47    [W:0.132 / U:3.292 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site