lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Apr]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC v4 2/4] softirq: reorder trace_softirqs_on to prevent lockdep splat
Date
Currently there's an issue which is not always reproducible, where the
softirqs annotation in lockdep goes out of sync with the reality of the
world and causes a lockdep splat. This is because the preemptoff tracer
calls into lockdep which can cause a softirqs invalid annotation splat.

The same issue was fixed in local_bh_disable_ip.
/*
* The preempt tracer hooks into preempt_count_add and will break
* lockdep because it calls back into lockdep after SOFTIRQ_OFFSET
* is set and before current->softirq_enabled is cleared.
* We must manually increment preempt_count here and manually
* call the trace_preempt_off later.
*/

I am not fully sure why the issue is reproducible with my patches easily,
but it seems like the same ordering issue can exist so we ought to fix
it.

Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Peter Zilstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Glexiner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Fenguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Cc: Baohong Liu <baohong.liu@intel.com>
Cc: Vedang Patel <vedang.patel@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
---
kernel/softirq.c | 6 +++++-
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/softirq.c b/kernel/softirq.c
index 177de3640c78..8a040bcaa033 100644
--- a/kernel/softirq.c
+++ b/kernel/softirq.c
@@ -139,9 +139,13 @@ static void __local_bh_enable(unsigned int cnt)
{
lockdep_assert_irqs_disabled();

+ if (preempt_count() == cnt)
+ trace_preempt_on(CALLER_ADDR0, get_lock_parent_ip());
+
if (softirq_count() == (cnt & SOFTIRQ_MASK))
trace_softirqs_on(_RET_IP_);
- preempt_count_sub(cnt);
+
+ __preempt_count_sub(cnt);
}

/*
--
2.17.0.484.g0c8726318c-goog
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-04-17 06:09    [W:0.070 / U:5.880 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site