lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Apr]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Subject[PATCH 1/2] x86, pti: fix boot problems from Global-bit setting
From
Date

These are _very_ lightly tested. I'm throwing them out there for
folks are looking for a fix.

---

From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>

Part of the global bit _setting_ patches also includes clearing the
Global bit when we do not want it. That is done with
set_memory_nonglobal(), which uses change_page_attr_clear() in
pageattr.c under the covers. However, it's pretty clear that
change_page_attr_clear() has not been heavily used early in boot, or
on kernel text.

It has checks like BUG_ON(irqs_disabled()), looking for interrupt
disabling but that also trip in early boot on certain preempt
configurations. Just copy the existing BUG_ON() sequence to check for
early boot.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Fixes: 39114b7a7 (x86/pti: Never implicitly clear _PAGE_GLOBAL for kernel image)
Reported-by: Mariusz Ceier <mceier@gmail.com>
Reported-by: Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@nokia.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
---

b/arch/x86/mm/pageattr.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff -puN arch/x86/mm/pageattr.c~pti-glb-boot-problem-fix arch/x86/mm/pageattr.c
--- a/arch/x86/mm/pageattr.c~pti-glb-boot-problem-fix 2018-04-17 14:10:13.553395577 -0700
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pageattr.c 2018-04-17 14:10:13.559395577 -0700
@@ -172,7 +172,7 @@ static void __cpa_flush_all(void *arg)

static void cpa_flush_all(unsigned long cache)
{
- BUG_ON(irqs_disabled());
+ BUG_ON(irqs_disabled() && !early_boot_irqs_disabled);

on_each_cpu(__cpa_flush_all, (void *) cache, 1);
}
@@ -236,7 +236,7 @@ static void cpa_flush_array(unsigned lon
unsigned long do_wbinvd = cache && numpages >= 1024; /* 4M threshold */
#endif

- BUG_ON(irqs_disabled());
+ BUG_ON(irqs_disabled() && !early_boot_irqs_disabled);

on_each_cpu(__cpa_flush_all, (void *) do_wbinvd, 1);

_
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-04-17 23:17    [W:0.027 / U:1.100 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site