lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 6/6] sched/isolation: Tick offload documentation
Date
Update the documentation to reflect the 1Hz tick offload changes.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Luiz Capitulino <lcapitulino@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Wanpeng Li <kernellwp@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt | 6 +++++-
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt b/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
index 39ac9d4..c851e41 100644
--- a/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
+++ b/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
@@ -1762,7 +1762,11 @@
specified in the flag list (default: domain):

nohz
- Disable the tick when a single task runs.
+ Disable the tick when a single task runs. A residual 1Hz
+ tick is offloaded to workqueues that you need to affine
+ to housekeeping through the sysfs file
+ /sys/devices/virtual/workqueue/cpumask or using the below
+ domain flag.
domain
Isolate from the general SMP balancing and scheduling
algorithms. Note that performing domain isolation this way
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-08 19:01    [W:0.079 / U:6.032 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site