lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 017/146] x86/mm/pti: Share entry text PMD
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

commit 6dc72c3cbca0580642808d677181cad4c6433893 upstream.

Share the entry text PMD of the kernel mapping with the user space
mapping. If large pages are enabled this is a single PMD entry and at the
point where it is copied into the user page table the RW bit has not been
cleared yet. Clear it right away so the user space visible map becomes RX.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/mm/pti.c | 10 ++++++++++
1 file changed, 10 insertions(+)

--- a/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pti.c
@@ -288,6 +288,15 @@ static void __init pti_clone_user_shared
}

/*
+ * Clone the populated PMDs of the entry and irqentry text and force it RO.
+ */
+static void __init pti_clone_entry_text(void)
+{
+ pti_clone_pmds((unsigned long) __entry_text_start,
+ (unsigned long) __irqentry_text_end, _PAGE_RW);
+}
+
+/*
* Initialize kernel page table isolation
*/
void __init pti_init(void)
@@ -298,4 +307,5 @@ void __init pti_init(void)
pr_info("enabled\n");

pti_clone_user_shared();
+ pti_clone_entry_text();
}

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-01 16:11    [W:0.220 / U:5.040 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site