lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v8 10/28] x86/insn-eval: Add a utility function to get register offsets
On Fri, Aug 18, 2017 at 05:27:51PM -0700, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> The function get_reg_offset() returns the offset to the register the
> argument specifies as indicated in an enumeration of type offset. Callers
> of this function would need the definition of such enumeration. This is
> not needed. Instead, add helper functions for this purpose. These functions
> are useful in cases when, for instance, the caller needs to decide whether
> the operand is a register or a memory location by looking at the rm part
> of the ModRM byte. As of now, this is the only helper function that is
> needed.
>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@gmail.com>
> Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
> Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
> Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
> Cc: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
> Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> arch/x86/include/asm/insn-eval.h | 1 +
> arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c | 15 +++++++++++++++
> 2 files changed, 16 insertions(+)

Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

SUSE Linux GmbH, GF: Felix Imendörffer, Jane Smithard, Graham Norton, HRB 21284 (AG Nürnberg)
--

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-08 15:36    [W:0.220 / U:3.136 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site