lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v8 08/28] x86/mpx, x86/insn: Relocate insn util functions to a new insn-eval file
On Fri, Aug 18, 2017 at 05:27:49PM -0700, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> Other kernel submodules can benefit from using the utility functions
> defined in mpx.c to obtain the addresses and values of operands contained
> in the general purpose registers. An instance of this is the emulation code
> used for instructions protected by the Intel User-Mode Instruction
> Prevention feature.
>
> Thus, these functions are relocated to a new insn-eval.c file. The reason
> to not relocate these utilities into insn.c is that the latter solely
> analyses instructions given by a struct insn without any knowledge of the
> meaning of the values of instruction operands. This new utility insn-
> eval.c aims to be used to resolve and userspace linear addresses based on
^
|

something's missing there - "kernel" maybe?

> the contents of the instruction operands as well as the contents of pt_regs
> structure.
>
> These utilities come with a separate header. This is to avoid taking insn.c
> out of sync from the instructions decoders under tools/obj and tools/perf.
> This also avoids adding cumbersome #ifdef's for the #include'd files
> required to decode instructions in a kernel context.
>
> Functions are simply relocated. There are not functional or indentation
> changes.

That text below you don't need to have in the commit message. Patch
handling and other modalities are usually put after the "---" and before
the diffstat below...

> The checkpatch script issues the following warning with this
> commit:
>
> WARNING: Avoid crashing the kernel - try using WARN_ON & recovery code
> rather than BUG() or BUG_ON()
> + BUG();
>
> This warning will be fixed in a subsequent patch.
>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@gmail.com>
> Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
> Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
> Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
> Cc: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
> Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
> ---

<--- ... here. Put such notes here.

> arch/x86/include/asm/insn-eval.h | 16 ++++
> arch/x86/lib/Makefile | 2 +-
> arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c | 163 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> arch/x86/mm/mpx.c | 156 +------------------------------------
> 4 files changed, 182 insertions(+), 155 deletions(-)
> create mode 100644 arch/x86/include/asm/insn-eval.h
> create mode 100644 arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c

Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

SUSE Linux GmbH, GF: Felix Imendörffer, Jane Smithard, Graham Norton, HRB 21284 (AG Nürnberg)
--

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-06 17:55    [W:0.224 / U:0.064 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site