lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH 0/3 v11] printk: Add new timestamps
Date
printk.time=1/CONFIG_PRINTK_TIME=1 adds a unmodified local hardware clock
timestamp to printk messages. The local hardware clock loses time each
day making it difficult to determine exactly when an issue has occurred in
the kernel log, and making it difficult to determine how kernel and
hardware issues relate to each other in real time.

Add monotonic, boottime, and real clock timestamps in addition to the existing
local hardware clock timestamp.

Signed-off-by: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Salyzyn <salyzyn@android.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoffer Dall <cdall@linaro.org>
Cc: Deepa Dinamani <deepa.kernel@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
Cc: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>
Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
[jstultz: reworked Kconfig settings to avoid defconfig noise]
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

Prarit Bhargava (2):
time: Make fast functions return 0 before timekeeping is initialized
printk: Add monotonic, boottime, and realtime timestamps

Thomas Gleixner (1):
timekeeping: Provide NMI safe access to clock realtime

Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt | 6 +-
include/linux/timekeeper_internal.h | 6 +-
include/linux/timekeeping.h | 1 +
kernel/printk/printk.c | 113 ++++++++++++++++++++++--
kernel/time/timekeeping.c | 72 +++++++++++++--
lib/Kconfig.debug | 48 +++++++++-
6 files changed, 228 insertions(+), 18 deletions(-)

--
1.8.5.5

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-05 14:07    [W:0.081 / U:9.064 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site